General Meeting Notes 4/10/17

Link to notes: MeetingNotes04102017

Amendment to the Constitution
Create formal written amendment
ANY Full member (undergrad in good standing) can propose amendment
Get 10 non-E-board signatures
Separate sheet is fine
Give to any E-board member
E-board reviews, gives approval
Looks for violations of SA rules, frivolity (no ‘must serve pizza at every meeting’ amendments)
Vote next general meeting, requires ⅔ of quorum to pass
Changes must be sent to SA for approval
Vote on amendment

    • Quorum: 18
    • For: 18
    • Against: 0

Election 2017 Results
President: Zayne Sember
Vice-President: Amanda Alexander
Treasurer: Sayre Stowell
Secretary: Basim Ahmad
Director of PR: Spencer Woodyard

High Power Rocketry
Launch April 29th
Wednesdays 4pm or earlier
Mondays at 4:30pm
2pm Friday
Contact Peter Wilkins at peter.wilkins@ubseds.org with questions

IREC Rocketry
Immediately after this meeting
Cutting stuff out tomorrow
Thursday 6:30pm
Contact Peter Wilkins at peter.wilkins@ubseds.org with questions

Low Power Rocketry
Fridays 3-6 pm
April 23rd 9am-12pm launch
Contact Andy Perez at andy.perez@ubseds.org with questions

Astronomy
Owen has things to say (next week). Event this past Saturday. Contact Owen Langrehr at owen.langrehr@ubseds.org with questions

Educational Outreach
Contact Rachel Malken at rachel.malken@ubseds.org with questions

Weather Balloon
Meeting immediately after this meeting.
Wednesday at 5:30 pm in Furnas 1025
Contact Michael Yedinak at michael.yedinak@ubseds.org with questions

Battlebot
Tuesdays in Furnas 1025 from 7-8pm
Contact Amanda Alexander at amanda.alexander@ubseds.org with questions

Yuri’s Night
4/21 from 6:30 to 10:30 pm
Pearl Street Grill and Brewery downtown
Buffet style dinner, tickets on sale for $27.50 in the SBI ticket office, from March 6th-31st
Speaker: Col. Walter Gordon, ret.
Chance to dress fancy & talk space while eating great food

March for Science
Soldier’s Circle at 1pm on April 22nd
Chris Jacobs and Brian Higgins-Great Lakes initiative
Tabling next week
Website: http://www.march4sciencebuffalo.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/938153732985874/

Other Noteworthy Things
Yuri’s Night 4/21 6:30-10:30 pm
Bowling was last night

Space News
X-37B breaks orbit record http://www.space.com/36205-x-37b-space-plane-breaks-record.html
Stars born in the refuse of a black hole http://www.space.com/36220-stars-born-inside-black-hole-jets-spotted.html