Category Archives: Meeting Minutes 2017-18

Meeting Minutes 8-28-17

Meeting Minutes 8-28-17

  •  Welcome to all of our returning members and new recruits!
  •  This year’s e-board
    ○ President – Zayne Sember zayne.sember@ubseds.org
    ○ Vice President – Amanda Alexander amanda.alexander@ubseds.org
    ○ Treasurer – Sayre Stowell sayre.stowell@ubseds.org
    ○ Secretary – Basim Ahmad basim.ahmad@ubseds.org
    ○ Comms Director – Spencer Woodyard spencer.woodyard@ubseds.org
  •  Low Power Rocketry
    ○ Project Lead – Andy Perez andy.perez@ubseds.org
  •  High Power Rocketry
    ○ Project Lead – Pete Wilkins peter.wilkins@ubseds.org
  • IREC Rocketry
    ○ Project Lead – Pete Wilkins peter.wilkins@ubseds.org
    ○ Summer launch was big success
    Link #1
    Link #2
    ○ Work for next summer’s rocket has already begun
    ★ Astronomy
    ○ Project Lead – Owen Langrehr owen.langrehr@ubseds.org
    Solar eclipse viewing
  •  Weather Balloon
    ○ Project Lead – Michael Yedinak michael.yedinak@ubseds.org
  •  Battlebot
    ○ Project Lead – Amanda Alexander amanda.alexander@ubseds.org
  •  Educational Outreach
    ○ Looking for someone to lead this project, if you are interested email
    zayne.sember@ubseds.org
  •  UB SEDS, along with UBNL, will be hosting SpaceWeek 2.0 the week of September 18
    Tentative schedule here
    ○ Event breakdown:
    ■ Keynote lecture by Charles Bolden, former astronaut and former director
    of NASA
    ■ Lecture by Col. Walter Gordon about the Gemini missions
    Lecture by Joseph D. Fargnoli, CEO of RITRE and CTO of THEIA
    Lecture by Louis Zacharilla, director of Innovation & Development for
    SSPI
    ■ IREC Motor Test Fire
    ■ IREC Payload Design Contest
    ■ UBNL Balloon Launch
  •  SpaceVision 2017 will be November 16 through November 18 in Cape Canaveral hosted
    by University of Central Florida
  •  To ensure cost is not a barrier to going, we will be driving down together
    ○ Leaving ~ mid day on Wed. Nov. 15
    ○ Back to Buffalo by ~ mid day on Mon. Nov. 20
    ○ SEDS will provide a note from Dr. Desjardin excusing you from any exams
  •  Great opportunity to network, attend some interesting panels, get some free stuff, and
    see KSC
  •  In order to attend with us you must​ purchase a ticket from the SBI ticket office located at
    SU 221
    ○ This ticket will cover conference registration, banquet registration, travel, and
    lodging
    ○ Expected ticket price: ~$130
    ○ Tickets will be on sale shortly and sales will run through Wed. September 27
  • Space News
    SpaceX’s new flight suit
    Another day, another Falcon 9 success:
  • Fall Fest
    ○ Next weekend
    ○ Huge thanks to everyone who volunteered
    ○ Will let you know when the mandatory​ training is as soon as SA tells me
  •  Pizza next meeting???